Forums  

Go Back   Forums > Talk > General FPP Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2010, 12:42 AM
eXceII eXceII is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Unhappy Embed Pano Transition Problem

Hello,

I am trying to select the "stripes" transition effect.

I am using external buttons to call the panos.

I am using:
Code:
function panoChange1 (e:Event){
    panorama.externals.hotspots.loadPano(["[pano.swf?panoName=images/snow&panoType=cube&],[2000],[stripes]"]
I have also tried loads of other variants of the positioning of the "[]" in the code.

Anyone have any suggestions to what the correct coding might be or an alternative method of changing the transitions while still using external button calls.

Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2010, 11:19 AM
allSaints's Avatar
allSaints allSaints is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 945
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi,

the FPP documentation of loadPano describes how to use it in the FPP XML file, but when you want to call the loadPano() function in ActionScript, you have to know that it takes only one parameter - an array.

And that array can have up to three members: panorama, transition time and transition effect.

Forget about including any brackets [] - they are only used in the documentation to show that a parameter is optional.

Try this:
Code:
panorama.externals.hotspots.loadPano( new Array("panoName=images/snow&panoType=cube",2000,"stripes") );
Another method would of course be to just execute a function in the FPP XML file that does the pano loading.

Tommy

Last edited by allSaints; 08-30-2010 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2010, 11:41 AM
eXceII eXceII is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Brilliant, cheers Tommy,

It worked perfectly and I have learnt something new

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2010, 03:30 PM
Scott Witte's Avatar
Scott Witte Scott Witte is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 593
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allSaints View Post
...but when you want to call the loadPano() function in ActionScript, you have to know that it takes only one parameter - an array.

And that array can have up to three members: panorama, transition time and transition effect.
Tommy,

You dumbfound me! I've battled with that problem for years. I discussed it years ago with Denis who indicated it was some sort of parsing error in the hotspots plugin, as I recall, and would be fixed in the next update, which never came. How you figured out a workaround is beyond me. Then again, that seems to be the norm for you

If I'm not mistaken Trausti, or rather his programmer, has taken care of this in the next release of FPP. If only I had your solution years ago...... who knows. I might still have hair!
__________________
Scott
Tour de Force 360VR
Scott Witte Photography
----------------------
Auto Quality Plugin: Guarantee the best FPP experience possible for every viewer on every computer.
Motion Zoom Transition Plugin: Move from Node to Node
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2010, 04:56 PM
allSaints's Avatar
allSaints allSaints is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 945
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Scott,

well, I had trouble with the loadPano() method too.

But when I ran a describeType() of the hotspots object, it said:
Code:
<method name="loadPano" declaredBy="Hotspots" returnType="*">
     <parameter index="1" type="Array" optional="false"/>
</method>
So, I just put the three parameters (from the normal API call) into an array, and voil? - it worked perfectly.

Of course, it would have been easier with some documentation...

Tommy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
embed, pano, problem, transition

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.