Forums  

Go Back   Forums > Talk > General FPP Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2007, 07:11 AM
Nate Nate is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 112
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default thumbnail navigation for panoramas

can anyone PLEASE help me figure out how to have a row of thumbnails below the Virtual Tour, that when clicked, load the appropriate tour into the tour region? I cannot figure out AS3 for the life of me, and have been unable to figure out another way. I want to end up with a nice row of still images that a user can click and see the panorama in the main area. Something like this: http://www.AlohaStateMedia.com/29Waikai/photo.html. Thanks ! BTW, I don't have to have it in Flash. Plain old html is just fine with me...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2007, 04:35 PM
zleifr's Avatar
zleifr zleifr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 609
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Just use the xml for hotspots.swf. Each spot has whatever number or photo you want in it. onOver it pops changes the visibility of the preview image above it (or you could use the tooltip plugin and load text and an image in the tooltip, which is probably easier), and onClick it loads the new pano. With all the other option Denis has built into hotspots.swf, you could make it as fancy, or as simple as you want.

Denis has already done all the work to make that sort of thing accessible to someone who doesn't have flash, or want to use flash to do it.

That's my suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2007, 05:19 PM
Nate Nate is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 112
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

zleifr,
Thanks for the suggestion, I hadn't thought of that. My only issue with using a hotspot is that the hotspot covers some of the panorama. I'd love to end up with something completely seperate so as to not distract from the panorama itself. Any other ideas?
BTW, FPP is the best thing out there!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2007, 05:49 PM
zleifr's Avatar
zleifr zleifr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 609
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Well then use the externalInterface with img's in the html and put javascript onClick actions on the them to load the panos. See the externalInterface example. I don't do this, because I don't like javascript and try to use as little of it as possible.

Zephyr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2007, 06:28 PM
testure testure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I recall seeing something like the application browser for OsX where the thumbnails flew by at the bottom of the screen. Do you know what I mean?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-31-2007, 06:58 PM
Nate Nate is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 112
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

testure, I use slideshowpro.net for my photos. Has great flexibility but only for AS2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2007, 08:20 PM
Sam Rohn's Avatar
Sam Rohn Sam Rohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 58
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default iframe ?

i built a simple demo page loading the panos into an iframe, when separate nav thumbnails are clicked -

this was just a quickie for my local viewing convenience, so i didn't bother with object/embed, swfobject, etc, but the page worked pretty well with the limited testing i did...

Code:
<iframe id="vr" name="vr" src="pano.swf?xml_file=cn-dh-01.xml&amp;ml&amp;" frameborder="0"></iframe>

<img src="preview-pano/cn-dh-01.JPG" alt="" width="240" height="120" border="0" />
<a href="pano.swf?xml_file=cn-dh-01.xml&amp;" target="vr"><br />First floor, living room </a>

<img src="preview-pano/cn-dh-08.JPG" alt="" width="240" height="120" border="0" /><br />
<a href="pano.swf?xml_file=cn-dh-08.xml&amp;" target="vr">First floor, dining room </a>
__________________
Sam Rohn :: New York City
360 Degree Panoramic Photography
Location Scout for film, photography & video
PanoPress - Wordpress plugin for 360 degree Panoramas
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-31-2007, 08:44 PM
testure testure is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Nate, is it possible to embed Slideshowpro into flashpanoramas as a hotspot ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-31-2007, 09:07 PM
WideEyes WideEyes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 189
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Try taking a look at some of the tours at http://www.newspin360.net

They have been created by Kevin - also a forum member. It works great both with the thumbnails and the control panel that shows and hides.
__________________
- a newbie trying to improve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.