Forums  

Go Back   Forums > Talk > Panorama techniques

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2010, 12:30 AM
Ton den Ouden's Avatar
Ton den Ouden Ton den Ouden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 67
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Panologic plugin (1)

I am a huge fan of Tommy's plugins. They make so much more possible and if not, they make it a lot easier to achieve the things that you want in a tour.

I use several of them, but there is one that I always use. I also think this is the most underestimated one, as it can do things otherwise impossible: the Panologic plugin.

I thought it would be a good idea to post some examples of how I use it. The idea is to show some ways of how I use it during the next few weeks. I realize that this will be only the tip of the iceberg, as there is much more that can be done with it, but I hope this will help others in using it.

The full screen button replacement

This is a very easy one. With a normal screen it shows the 'full screen' button and in full screen it will show the 'normal screen' button.

The buttons may look like this (sorry, it is in Dutch, but you will get the idea)



Just make two different buttons. One is visible, the other is not.

Use this, or a similar code in panologic:
Code:
   <function name="fullscreentest">
      <![CDATA[
      if ($fullscreen == 1) {
         $command(full.visible=0;normal.visible=1)
      }
      else {
         $command(full.visible=1;normal.visible=0)
      }
     ]]>
   </function>
Use this, or a similar code in the xml for both buttons:
Code:
<spot id="full" static="1" align="BR" salign="BR" staticX="0" staticY="-85" 
        url="mappen/images/full.png" visible="1" depth="3" linked=""
        onClick="fullscreen(-); external.panologic.fullscreentest=x"/>

<spot id="normal" static="1" align="BR" salign="BR" staticX="0" staticY="-85" 
        url="mappen/images/normaal.png" visible="0" depth="3" linked=""
        onClick="fullscreen(-); external.panologic.fullscreentest=x"/>
I hope this will help to get enthousiastic about the panologic plugin. If it does, I will post some more ideas soon.

Any questions? Let me know!

Good luck, Ton

Last edited by Ton den Ouden; 12-13-2010 at 12:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2010, 12:38 AM
sachagriffin sachagriffin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 211
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

No need for pano logic in this case. You can use the onenter onexitfullscreen functions to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2010, 08:54 PM
Ton den Ouden's Avatar
Ton den Ouden Ton den Ouden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 67
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Haha, you are right Sacha!

Tommy has made it so easy that I forgot to look for a normal command....
I will post something better soon.

Thanks, Ton
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2010, 09:39 PM
christophe's Avatar
christophe christophe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: France - PACA -
Posts: 303
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

But you are right Ton, panologic is a very great plugin.
And Tommy, i didn't told you for your latest plugins, but you did a very good job as ever.

We are lucky to know you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2010, 11:51 PM
sachagriffin sachagriffin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 211
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

I had that same problem after starting to use panologic.

One thing I like to use it for, is to create stretchy size text or other elements tailored for the window size.
For instance 1024 resolution people get smaller items, and 1920 people get larger items because small text can be hard to read at 1920 and larger text/items overflow in 1024.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ton den Ouden View Post
Haha, you are right Sacha!

Tommy has made it so easy that I forgot to look for a normal command....
I will post something better soon.

Thanks, Ton
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2011, 01:44 AM
Ton den Ouden's Avatar
Ton den Ouden Ton den Ouden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 67
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I finally found some time to check if the command mentioned by Sacha would do the job as well as Panologic.

And I found that it doesn't. OnEnter and OnExit only react to a change of state, but they can't monitor the state when loading a new pano. If I am in full screen I want to show a 'normal screen' button. Loading a new pano should show the same button. Wit panologic this is no problem.

The OnExitfullscreen is very useful, as it can be used to monitor if a visitor uses the escape button to quit full screen. A simple global command solves that:

Code:
onExitFullscreen="external.panologic.fullscreentest=x "
Here is a very simple example to illustrate what I mean: http://www.pro4pics.com/forum/bodega/

Last edited by Ton den Ouden; 01-07-2011 at 03:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2011, 02:58 AM
Ton den Ouden's Avatar
Ton den Ouden Ton den Ouden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 67
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Example 2: welcome text

This example is a little more complicated.

Recently I made a virtual showroom. The xml-files are quite complicated, for there are many videos and pictures in it.

Starting the tour, I wanted to show a welcome text during the first seconds. But in this tour it is possible to visit the same pano again. When re-entering the same pano I do not want to see the welcome text again of course.

It would be easy to define the pano again and make a separate xml. But that would mean that I would have to copy any changes made later to the second xml too.

I found a much easier way to solve this with panologic: I only show the text if the loading pano is at a surtain panning angle. If the angle is different, no text will be shown.

I defined the same pano twice in my global settings in the index.xml, using the same xml-file and only a different panning angle and added a global welkomx-command.

Code:
loadPano1="loadPano(panoName=mappen/images/showroom_1&amp;xml_file=mappen/xml/showroom_1.xml&amp;pan=175)"
loadPano1a="loadPano(panoName=mappen/images/showroom_1&amp;xml_file=mappen/xml/showroom_1.xml&amp;pan=80)"

welkomx="welkom.visible=1; welkom.alpha=1,1000; timer+=1,3000,,start" start="welkom.visible=0"
When returning I use the second one (pano1a).

In the showroom_1.xml (pano1 and pano1a) I used the following code to check panologic:
Code:
onLoad="external.panologic.intro=x"
The panologic code looks like this:
Code:
   <function name="intro">
      <![CDATA[
      if ($pan > 174 && $pan < 176) {
         $command(global.welkomx())
      }
    ]]>
   </function>
This works just fine and any changes would just have to be made to one xml-file.

It may all look very complicated at first sight, but it is quite simple. Maintaining two identical xml-files is far more complicated than this.

Good luck,

Ton
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2011, 11:11 AM
allSaints's Avatar
allSaints allSaints is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 945
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Ton,

it might interest you to know about this new update of the panologic plugin that I describe here.

It's about using the meta operands in the $command() string.

Tommy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2011, 11:16 AM
zakato zakato is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Elche, Spain
Posts: 43
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Ton! ... thanks for taking the time to post this little tricks! ... I am a big fan of Tommy?s plugins too! ... I used panologic some time ago but I've forgotten about it lately ... after reading your posts I am thinking about going back to it as its power is yet to be fully discovered!

regards,

Antonio
(1st post of the year .... all the best for 2011!)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2011, 05:36 PM
sachagriffin sachagriffin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 211
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

The reason for this is because you are using linked=""
If you remove this, then the spot will stay when you switch to the other scene. Still no need for panologic.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ton den Ouden View Post
I finally found some time to check if the command mentioned by Sacha would do the job as well as Panologic.

And I found that it doesn't. OnEnter and OnExit only react to a change of state, but they can't monitor the state when loading a new pano. If I am in full screen I want to show a 'normal screen' button. Loading a new pano should show the same button. Wit panologic this is no problem.

The OnExitfullscreen is very useful, as it can be used to monitor if a visitor uses the escape button to quit full screen. A simple global command solves that:

Code:
onExitFullscreen="external.panologic.fullscreentest=x "
Here is a very simple example to illustrate what I mean: http://www.pro4pics.com/forum/bodega/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.