Forums  

Go Back   Forums > Talk > General FPP Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-19-2008, 01:29 AM
lc8b105 lc8b105 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 48
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasper View Post
Thankyou Hans .

So is there a way to make sure the .xml loads along with the .swf? I just assumed this was automatically built into the pano.swf file code.
For example:

If you keep the .swf's name as dockland.swf and change .xml's name as demo.xml, you only need to add some code in you .html file.
Change this line
HTML Code:
embed src="Docklands.swf" allowFullScreen="true" bgcolor="#333333" width="1000" height="570" name="fullscreen" align="middle" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
to
HTML Code:
embed src="Docklands.swf?xml_file=demo.xml" allowFullScreen="true" bgcolor="#333333" width="1000" height="570" name="fullscreen" align="middle" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" />
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-19-2008, 03:13 AM
andrew22222 andrew22222 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 68
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Oh great, I was just going to say that myself

Can I have some of the $200

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-19-2008, 08:24 AM
HansNyberg HansNyberg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 611
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

The question is what blocks the computers from loading the xml.

There is nothing wrong with the current code actually. I did some experiments in Explorer and if you use "High Security" you just do not load anything at all. It blocks the active X and you get the info bar and an empty area.
This can not be the case as they do load the pano. If the link they see is the same as you published here there must be something perhaps in their proxyserver which blocks the xml.
Have you checked that it is the same in all browsers, Firefox Explorer, or Safari.
Check what happens if you just try to load the xml directly.

Hans
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-19-2008, 04:08 PM
jomla jomla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 29
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

@Jasper - please, check your PM.

Last edited by jomla; 10-19-2008 at 09:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-20-2008, 08:59 AM
Jasper Jasper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks guys.

I've tried everything to make this tour work on their computers. Hans is correct. It seems their computers are blocking the xml. Don't know why though and they don't seem to be particularly keen on changing anything at their end .

The only way I've found to get around the problem is to create the tour with Pano2VR. Means I have to redo everything but at least they'll be able to view it .
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-20-2008, 09:35 AM
HansNyberg HansNyberg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 611
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

If they actually block all xml they will not be able to view standard slideshows used by most large news sites.
For example this CNN flash slideshow,
http://edition.cnn.com/2007/TRAVEL/0...hot/index.html

Tell them that.

Hans
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:45 AM
nidrig nidrig is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 148
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasper View Post
Thanks guys.

I've tried everything to make this tour work on their computers. Hans is correct. It seems their computers are blocking the xml. Don't know why though and they don't seem to be particularly keen on changing anything at their end .

The only way I've found to get around the problem is to create the tour with Pano2VR. Means I have to redo everything but at least they'll be able to view it .
If you have Flash CS3, you can store the XML directly in the code;

Code:
var xml_1:XML = 
<panorama>
<parameters> 
</parameters>
</panorama>

panorama.loadPanorama("xml_text="+xml_1);
See cyl.fla example in the bundle Dennis provided with the player.

The issue with their proxy might be that it doesn't allow javascript to load external ressources. Is there a way to store your visit on their server (aka one that is trusted by their proxy)?

Last edited by nidrig; 10-20-2008 at 11:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-20-2008, 12:35 PM
HansNyberg HansNyberg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 611
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nidrig View Post
If you have Flash CS3, you can store the XML directly in the code;
See cyl.fla example in the bundle Dennis provided with the player.
???

Where do you get this from.
There are no such files in the FPP zip archive.

Hans
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:03 PM
nidrig nidrig is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 148
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HansNyberg View Post
???

Where do you get this from.
There are no such files in the FPP zip archive.

Hans
Err, sorry. I messed up with my files, can't find the original one..Maybe "embedPano.fla" has this code within. Anyway, here it is.

Code:
var panorama:MovieClip;
var loader:Loader = new Loader(); 
loader.load(new URLRequest("files/pano.swf"));
addChild(loader);

loader.contentLoaderInfo.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, loadComplete); 

function loadComplete (e:Event) {
	
	panorama = loader.content;
	panorama.setArea(0,0,800,600);
        panorama.loadPanorama("xml_file=cyl.xml"); 
}

var xml_1:XML = 
<panorama>
<parameters> 
	panoName=images/test
	layer_1=files/fps.swf
	panHome=100
	
</parameters>

</panorama>
Hope it helped.

Last edited by nidrig; 10-20-2008 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-20-2008, 04:31 PM
henri henri is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Do you get help from their system administrator at all?
If they have internet restriction set than they could enter the url to the tour as a trusted site, maybe that will help.

If they are using IE7 then ask them to enable native xmlhttp support, they can still block active-x but chances are the tour will work.

But how is this your problem? Did you sell some promises with the panorama's? (just asking, no criticism or anything intended!)


Henri

Last edited by henri; 10-20-2008 at 05:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.